What You Left Behind by Samantha Hayes

whatyouleftbehind

Rate: 4.5/5

Synopsis:

Two years after a terrifying spate of teenage suicides, the remote village of Radcote has just begun to heal. Then a young man is killed in a freak motorcycle accident and a suicide note is found among his belongings. When a second boy is found dead shortly thereafter, the nightmare of repeat suicides once again threatens the community.

      Desperate for a vacation, Detective Inspector Lorraine Fisher has just come to Radcote for a stay with her sister, Jo, but the atmosphere of the country house is unusually tense. Freddie, Jo’s son, seems troubled and uncommunicative, and Jo is struggling to reach out to him. Meanwhile, Lorraine becomes determined to discover the truth behind these deaths. Are they suicides, or is there something more sinister at work? Finding answers might help Freddie, but they’ll also lead to a shocking truth: whatever it is–or whoever it is–that’s killing these young people is far more disturbing than she ever could have imagined, and unraveling the secret is just as dangerous as the secret itself.

     Wicked, intense, and utterly compulsive, What You Left Behind confirms Samantha Hayes as a top thriller writer.

Non-Spoiler review:

As soon as I started this book I knew I would be hooked until I finished it. I had to read it all in one sitting. I’ve read Until You’re Mine by Samantha Hayes so I knew this book would also be worth ruining my sleep over since I started the book at 9pm. I know it was foolish of me to start it so late but I thought I would be able to put it down after an hour and pick it back up the next day but that was not the case.
This book had multiple twists and gave clues along the way that stirred me in the wrong direction. At times I was certain that I knew what was happening but of course, there was always a different explanation that shocked me. I loved most of the characters especially the one that followed a disability. I found this to be very refreshing since a lot of authors don’t touch on this.
I find myself reading a lot of books based on suicide, bullying, abuse etc so this book really pulled me into it right away. I was always interested with the story line. I can often get bored reading certain books but I was always interested and alert while reading this. The ending in particular is what really got me, I thought it would just be a breeze through what I already pictured I knew but boy was I wrong! I became thrown into this loop of surprise and shock. It was great!
Overall, I loved this book and I especially love the author. Both of her books that I’ve read have been surprising and refreshing and I can’t wait to read more!

Buy it here

Learn about the author here

I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review.

What You Left Behind by Samantha Hayes

Leave a Reply

